Best Fantasy Book Series

The Wheel of Time


The Wheel of Time epitomizes large scale Epic Fantasy. It consists of fourteen books with nearly 150 individual points of view. The series starts out small -- for Epic Fantasy -- in a remote location (Edmondís Field) with five friends (Rand, Mat, Perrin, Egwene, and Nynaeve) being contacted by an Aes Sedai (Moiraine) and her Warder (Lan) who offer the five friends a chance to see the larger world. Moiraineís motives for leading the friends away from their home is suspect, and sets up a fantastic series plot that is simple, but wide ranging.

What we liked most about the series is the individual stories that grow slowly as the books progress. Each new character adds to the larger plot and expands the fantasy world. What makes the series great is that each character has their own motivation and personal challenges. The characters are sometimes aligned with each other and sometimes not. This adds tension and excitement to the books that arenít tied to the struggle against the Forsaken (the bad guys) and the Dark Lord.

One thing that was a disappointment in the books were the Forsaken. They were the only set of characters that, for the most part, werenít fully developed. It was often hard to tell them apart (or care enough to pay attention to their details). Nevertheless, this small flaw doesnít detract from the overall story.

Another disappointing thing was some parts of the individual books (or scenes) werenít up to the standard of the series as a whole. In fact, this causes us to rate the series as a whole higher than each of the individual books (because itís a fantastic series despite its flaws).

The epic scale woven by a huge number of individual points of view makes The Wheel of Time a Must Read Epic Fantasy series. 

Note: Eleven books were written Robert Jordan and three completed by Brandon Sanderson from Jordanís notes. 

Note: Weíve read all the books in this series, but only reviewed the first one.

Series Details

Rating Must Read Series Complete
Yes Yes


Book Series Author Rating Must Read Number of Pages Year Published
The Eye of the World The Wheel of Time Robert Jordan Yes 832 1990