Best Fantasy Book Series

The Gentleman Bastard Sequence


Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard Sequence is a great example of an action and mystery story wrapped in a fantasy world. His world is populated by humans, but many of the structures were built of elderglass by the long missing race of Eldren. This adds some mystery where we ask, “Where did the Eldren go?” 

The stories in the series follow a group of con men who masquerade as petty thieves and priests. They play long cons against the most wealthy in society. They must outrun the police and at the same time dodge the power plays within the criminal community. This creates plenty of tension with threats coming from several directions.

We recommend the first two books in this series if you love action and a bit of mystery in your fantasy books. However, book three was a disappointment.

Series Details

Rating Must Read Series Complete
No No


Book Series Author Rating Must Read Number of Pages Year Published
The Lies of Locke Lamora The Gentleman Bastard Sequence Scott Lynch Yes 736 2006
Red Seas Under Red Skies The Gentleman Bastard Sequence Scott Lynch No 760 2007
The Republic of Thieves The Gentleman Bastard Sequence Scott Lynch No 706 2013