Best Fantasy Book Series

Malazan Book of the Fallen


Malazon Book of the Fallen is an Epic Fantasy series written by Steven Erikson that has several major plotlines that start on three different continents. Each of those plotlines is large in scope and encompasses a huge number of individual stories. As a result, you’ll need to read several of the books in the series before you have a good understanding of the series plot. The task of reading this series is made easy if you focus on each of the individual characters’ stories and let the major plotlines unfold on their own.

This series is so vast that many of the books run parallel in chronology. In addition, some of the storylines occur out of chronological order if you read the books by publication date. This has generated a lot of complaints by fantasy readers that the series is too complex. After reading the series three times, we’ve come up with an alternate reading order that makes the series easier to read and more understandable by placing it in chronological order and keeping major storylines contiguous (rather than skipping back and forth between them). Here it is:
1. Midnight Tides
2. Reaper’s Gale – Chapters 1 through 3
3. House of Chains – Chapters 1 through 4
4. *Night of Knives
5. Gardens of the Moon
6. Memories of Ice
7. Deadhouse Gates
8. House of Chains – Chapters 5 to the end
9. The Bonehunters
10. Reaper’s Gale – Chapters 4 to the end
11. *Return of the Crimson Guard
12. Toll the Hounds
13. *Stoneweilder
14. Dust of Dreams
15. *Orb Sceptre Throne
16. The Crippled God

*Books by Ian C. Esselmont that add extra storylines for some of the minor characters in the books authored by Steven Erikson.

The vastness of the series, huge world with a lengthy history, and robust individual storylines makes this series a Must Read.

Note: We’ve read all the books in the series, but only reviewed Gardens of the Moon.

Series Details

Rating Must Read Series Complete
Yes Yes


Book Series Author Rating Must Read Number of Pages Year Published
Gardens of the Moon Malazan Book of the Fallen Steven Erikson Yes 666 1999