Best Fantasy Book Series

Fire and Ice


Fire and Ice follows the story of Tandor who seeks to reclaim the technology of the past and use it to end the abuses of the ruling Eagle Knights. 

The premise of the book is interesting in that it appears the world has been destroyed by a nuclear (or magical equivalent) event. The population has a small percentage of mutants (people with various physical disabilities) who have the ability to control icefire (electricity equivalent). This sets up a great fantasy world, which gives the book some extra plot points.

The thing I liked best about the Fire and Ice was the characterization. Each character has their own motivation and goals to set up their personality. This is a nice addition to the book.
Another thing I enjoyed is that the stakes for the various characters were set early. This added more anticipation and gave me a reason to keep reading.

On the down side, the book had quite a few grammar errors, which were distracting. The errors were mostly missing words and punctuation so it appears that a thorough proof edit wasn’t done. Here are some examples that caused us to dock the book a bit on grammar: 
 “But a twinge of discomfort tugged at him Carro had said such strange things recently.” – missing period.
 “He had Isandor had climbed up the limpet roof…” – had instead of and
 “I don’t know how you these things…” – how you what? 

Another distracting point in the book came from some rigid or forced dialogue.

Although I enjoyed reading Fire and Ice, the book ends in an awkward spot. It’s not a cliff hanger, but at a point that wasn’t especially satisfying. Unfortunately, it left me with little desire to read the next book in the series. Nevertheless, the characters and premise were enough to give it three stars. We’ll let you decide if the book is worth the read.


Series Author Rating Must Read Number of Pages Year Published
Icefire Trilogy Patty Jansen No 314 2013




Sword and Sorcery


Witches and Wizards